Nap Time Tip

7 Jan

I have the privilege of babysitting for a sweet 2 year old girl and I have watched her in the past and I have had trouble getting her to take a nap or go to bed. Over this past week I have watched her 3 times and the first night that I watched her I decided to try something new for nap time.

I noticed that she was attached to this little baby doll. So when I recognized that it was nap time instead of telling her it was time for her nap I told her that it was time for her baby doll’s nap. She gave me an interesting look but she played along. So she and I took her little baby doll into her crib and she laid her baby doll in the crib. I asked her if she would lay next to her doll to be sure she went to sleep and I left the room.

To my surprise, she was soon sound asleep. I tried this method again later in the week and again for bedtime and I was successful each time. Her mom has informed me that it usually takes 30-45 mins of rocking to get her to fall asleep so she can place her in her crib. If she wakes up, then she will scream and cry until she is rocked again.

I imagine that this could work with many ages and even with boys if they have a favorite toy.

Please comment with your nap time success and horror stories! Also, if you have been having trouble with nap time and bedtime and you use this method, let me know if it worked for you!

3 Responses to “Nap Time Tip”

  1. Aarika January 9, 2011 at 8:36 PM #

    That’s a great idea Rach! I’ll have to try it if I run into nap time/bed time troubles. I also like the “cootie catcher” craft…I’ll try both of these things out next time I’m babysitting! 🙂 Thanks for the tips!

  2. Cireeleda January 10, 2011 at 10:49 AM #

    I WISH I COULD GET EVEN 1 OF MY 3 KIDS to take a nap. Today my 6 yr old asked me if she was a night person, or a day person? I laughed, because she is an ALL the time person, never settling down until her head hits the pillow. There are some great suggestions at http://www.myeess.com. There is also a child-checkout form to help ALL parents, and babysitters communicate more effectively.

  3. rachfenimore January 11, 2011 at 2:20 AM #

    Oh I know those ALL the time kids! 🙂 Well let me know if you try this method and tell me if it works for you!

Leave a Reply

