All Grown Up – Happy Birthday Mom

10 Jan

As I am keeping up with this blog I can’t help but remember that I was a kid once. Today is my mom’s birthday, what better day to remember myself as the child than today. I recently watched videos of myself and I was quite the rowdy one. I would try to dress myself (I never quite got it right), stayed up waaay past my time for bed, I climbed on cabinets, I was a picky eater, and the list goes on. Do any of these habits sound familiar? I know I have personally encountered each of these behaviors at one point or another from a child. Taking the time today to realize that I was once the stubborn little kid that I may be dealing with at the moment, gives me the patience to continue when sometimes I don’t feel like I have the strength to go on. The truth is that although I love kids, they have their moments that make me pull my hair out. But if I didn’t encounter that every now and again I wouldn’t feel credible to write a blog like this one.

So when you are feeling impatient and you are just not how you are going to make it the next day, remember that you were in their shoes once. And remember to be grateful to your parents and thank them for helping them become the person that you have become.

And remember, when you need some child raising tips…go to mom. She has done it before and chances are she had one just like you have now. 🙂

One Response to “All Grown Up – Happy Birthday Mom”

  1. Tee Nelson January 10, 2011 at 2:49 PM #

    To my wonderful daughter… thank you so much for the birthday wish. As a child you taught me a lot. Most of all patience. The one word I always have to describe you is CONSTANT… from the day you were born until now.. that hasn’t changed. You are a wonderful person and the best babysitter in the world.. Keep up the good work. I love you! Oh and just so you know I never really duck taped your mouth. I thought about it though 🙂

Leave a Reply

