A Heart to Heart About Being on Time

24 Feb

Alright, so today we are going to get a little personal about my day, my meeting, excuses and how this applies to you as a babysitter. I will start by saying today I had a meeting. A very important meeting which I have been excited about since last week. With that said, here is a timeline of my day leading up to the meeting.

8:00 am – Class begins

8:15 – I wake up to a call from someone in my class asking why I wasn’t there taking the midterm test

8:20 – I arrive at class in sweats, sleepy in my eye, and no makeup on to take the midterm test quicker than I had planned

9:10 – I finish the midterm and head back up to my room

(did I mention it is pouring down rain?)

9:15 – Arrive in my dorm, change, attempt to make myself presentable

9:30 – Walk/run to my car, which is 10 mins away from my dorm, in the POURING RAIN! I am leaping through puddles.

9:40 – Get in my car, start driving, and make a phone call to a client for a class in order to schedule a meeting today

9:50 – Pass the turn I needed to make and have to turn around

10:00 – Meeting starts

10:10 – I arrive

Obviously I am 10 mins late to my important meeting that I had been looking forward to for a week (did I mention I was dripping wet because of the rain and the 10 min walk to my car?). This is my life lesson on excuses and meetings:

1. Don’t be late. At all. Period. No excuse. If you have a babysitting job, give yourself PLENTY of time to get there and arrive 10 mins early (NOT LATE). Give yourself room for rain, wrong turns, traffic, and life. By being on time you show that you are excited about being there without having to say a word.

2. Make sure you are clear on the time. Before today I received an email from the person I was meeting with and it said “Lets meet at 10:00am-10:30am…” I read that as “Let’s start the meeting sometime between 10 and 10:30…” No the meeting was to last FROM 10:00am-10:30am. Make sure you are clear before arriving. People won’t be upset with you asking questions to clarify but if you’re late because of a misunderstanding that you didn’t clarify ahead of time…chances are they will be less than happy.

3. Don’t share your excuses with them. Because if you give yourself plenty of time then you shouldn’t have an excuse. If you are late, apologize and don’t let it happen again. Truth is, there is nothing you can do about it. The impression has already been made and anything you do after will be making up for that first bad impression. If you give yourself plenty of time and arrive way early, hang out in your car and catch up on some of my blogs that you may have missed. There is a phone friendly version.

I hope you can learn from my mistake and be a more timely person. Be a professional. As a side note, the meeting that I schedule while missing my turn, I was 40 mins early to, and I wrote this blog.

P.S. – Dear Anonymous, If you are reading my blog and I was late to your meeting today, or if I have ever been late to anything EVER, I am sorry and it will never happen again. 🙂 Lesson learned. And thank you for getting me coffee.

2 Responses to “A Heart to Heart About Being on Time”

  1. The Anonymous February 24, 2011 at 6:25 PM #

    I couldn’t have said it better. 😉 We had a great meeting and looking forward to all we talked about.

  2. rachfenimore February 24, 2011 at 8:10 PM #

    🙂 I enjoyed our meeting as well and I am excited about working together.

Leave a Reply

